Dominican President Decrees Regional Disaster Situation by Vaguada


The trough has caused great damage «in the provinces of La Vega, Hermanas Mirabal, Espaillat, Duarte, Santiago and other demarcations of the country».

The President of the Dominican Republic, Luis Abinader, issued Decree 311-24 on Friday, declaring a disaster situation of a regional nature, as a result of the damage and effects caused by the passage of a trough through that Caribbean country.


Yellow Alert to 11 Dominican Provinces by Vaguada

«A disaster situation of a regional nature is declared as a consequence of the damages and affectations caused by the trough that has impacted the national territory, generating significant and great damages in a particular way in the provinces La Vega, Hermanas Mirabal, Espaillat, Duarte, Santiago and other demarcations of the country», specifies the text of the presidential regulation.

The document also states that “until the situation has been declared to be back to normal, the Executive may modify the classification given to the declaration of disaster and the provisions of the special regime to be applied”.

The Government further reported that the decision was taken after the latest meteorological bulletin of the National Meteorological Office (Onamet) and that, accordingly, the management of the Emergency Operations Centre (COE) Report on the permanence of high humidity values in the geographical area as well as the persistence of a trough at various levels in the troposphere.

Pdte. @LuisAbinader emitió el decreto 311-24, que declara situación de desastre de carácter regional como consecuencia de los daños causados por la vaguada en las provincias La Vega, Hermanas Mirabal, Espaillat, Duarte, Santiago y otras.

???? Disponible:

— Dirección de Prensa del Presidente (DPP) (@dpprdo) June 7, 2024

The text reads,

Pdte. Luis Abinader issued decree 311-24, which declares a regional disaster situation as a result of the damage caused by the trough in the provinces of La Vega, Hermanas Mirabal, Espaillat, Duarte, Santiago and others.

In this regard, it states that in the face of the ‘moderate to heavy downpours, thunderstorms and gusts of wind over the provinces of the regions: north, north-east, the eastern plain, as well as the Caribbean coastal coast and the Central Mountain Range, a situation that has generated floods of rivers, streams and streams, as well as urban flooding and landslides, so the COE has placed in different alert categories all the provinces of the country».

In that sense, the COE maintains 11 provinces and the National District on yellow alert and 12 in green, because since the early hours of the morning, instability has deepened and humidity has increased, producing cloudy with local moderate to heavy downpours.

The provinces in yellow alert are: Hato Mayor, El Seibo, San Pedro de Macorís, Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Santiago Rodríguez, Samaná, San Cristóbal, Monte Plata, Puerto Plata, Dajabón and Peravia.

Meanwhile, in green alert are: Monte Cristi, Monsignor Nouel, San José de Ocoa, Santiago, Pedernales, María Trinidad Sánchez, Valverde, Azúa, El Seibo, Barahona, Duarte (special the Bajo Yuna) and Sánchez Ramírez.

In this regard, the COE recommended “that people refrain from crossing rivers, streams and streams that present high volumes of water in the provinces under alert”.

Deja una respuesta